Birthday celebrations

Happy Monday crafty pals,

Stumped – that was how I felt when I finally settled down to make a birthday card for my sons friend early last week.

I got out my stamp catalogue and sat and stared at it for ages hoping for inspiration to hit! Unfortunately nothing happened the first time so I left it a day and came back.

I’m sure most of you have a stamp catalogue, but for those that don’t I’d highly recommend it. It is basically a stamped record of all of your stamps categorised in a way that suits your needs. That way you don’t need to drag out all of your boxes or stamps when you have a creative urge. I made mine over a period of a few days and try really hard to add new stamps as soon as I get them now as it was time consuming to set up.  I use printer paper and black ink for all of my stamps and keep mine in a ring binder, but I know some people have special books they carry with them when they are out hunting for craft supplies.

I am a real procrastinator so couple that with a fairly small craft stash (I only became a demonstrator in June) and I was lost at where to start. Yeah for Designer Series Paper as Patio Party finally inspired me.

Birthday card

Images © 2012 Stampin’ Up!

Ingredients
 
Sweets for the Sweet Clear-Mount Stamp Set
Pennant Parade Clear-Mount Stamp Set
Summer Starfruit Card Stock
Whisper White Card Stock
Summer Starfruit Classic Stampin’ Pad®
Marina Mist Classic Stampin’ Pad®
Raspberry Ripple Classic Stampin’ Pad®
Basic Black Classic Stampin Pad®
Top Note Stampin Up!® Bigz Die
Big Shot
Patio Party Designer Series Paper
Polka Dot Parade Designer Series Paper (Marina Mist)
Stampin’ Dimensionals®
SNAIL Adhesive®
1″ Circle punch
Stamping sponges

Looking back at the card I should have made both the left and right ‘lollipops’ be the same height and I maybe could have stamped the ribbon from the Sweets for the Sweet stamp set and added them to the sticks.

To go with the card I made a gift card holder from a Stampin’ Up! envelope.

Gift card wrap

Ingredients

Teeny Tiny Wishes Clear-Mount Stamp Set
Marina Mist Card Stock
Whisper White Card Stock
Whisper White Classic Stampin’ Pad®
Marina Mist Classic Stampin’ Pad®
Extra Large Oval punch
Polka Dot Parade Designer Series Paper (Marina Mist)
Bitty Banners Framelits
Big Shot
Whisper White Baker’s Twine
Stampin’ Dimensionals®
Whisper White medium envelope

I used them to make a ‘belly’ band, but tweaked it slightly after the photo so that the twine was double wrapped around rather then knotted (in photo).

Hope you like them and keep crafting

Melanie
Leave a Reply

