Block background technique

Hi Crafty Pals,

It’s technique Tuesday and I decided to try out making a background using my ink pads and a clear block. It is quite a simple technique you wipe the ink over the block (varying the colours if you choose) and stamp the block directly onto the paper.

block background technique

On one of my blocks I mixed two colours as a test drive to see how it would turn out. I was so pleased with the effect I decided to use the test drive in the project. I had thought it might take a couple of tries before I got a background I was happy with, but it turned out well first time.

Once I tried with a block I wondered if you could use anything else so I dug out a piece of plastic I had and then inked that up to make the main background for the card, because the ink tended to pool at the edges of the plastic looks a bit like it’s on a mat.

The inked was easily removed from the block and the plastic with a squirt of Stampin’ Mist and a bit of paper towel.

The card was quick to make, but a little messy on the fingers! I’ll definitely try it again maybe combining three colours on a large block.

Ingredients

Designer Series Paper and Card Stock: Whisper white and Basic Grey

Stamps: Lovely as a Tree

Classic Stampin’ Pad®: Certainly Celery, Baja Breeze and Basic Grey

Have fun getting inky
Melanie and link to online store

Leave a Reply

